.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Welcome Back!

I found that going to the mall and playing DDR (for those that don't know this stands for Dance Dance Resolution -_-). A couple summers ago I would take my little sister to the mall for some summer for. We would go see a movie, eat and play video games at the arcade place. I felt that was a cool, fun way to connect with her that was better than sitting in the house all day. Going to play DDR now a couple years later made me feel like I had never left. It was a moment that I had with her today that really made me enjoy the things in my life. 

I'm not usually understood by people I meet and/or they usually just go with the flow with my witty humor. I'm sitting here at 11:55 pm on a Wednesday night when I should be getting ready to close my eyes. However, I feel like I should start getting back into the swing of things. At my high school graduation, I received this "character award" which was a statement saying that among my peers, I was the most OUT THERE IN PERSONALITY! Which is fine for me considering the personality that I have. I'm not saying I'm the shit, but my "being me" has been under construction for many MANY MANY years. I wasn't always a outgoing, ready to party, no filter type of person. I went through my stages of adolescent depression of being picked on, and wanting to stay in the dark. Like I said earlier, I have worked on being myself...my true self that I care not (ok, well I care but not so seriously) what people are going to judge me on. I'm being judged everyday as is, and I judge people all the time, so I'm no saint....is anyone? (no hands) lol

Everyday, I work on being a better version of me. Something that I've come to accept is bright eye shadow...hear me out before you go wtf on me kay! The reason I'm using the "bright eye shadow metaphor" is because like bright shadow, you have to have confidence to pull it off. It's like if I can pull off some blue eye shadow, why can't I just be myself. It's those type of things that make me happy to dance in public, or whatever I wanna do. I can only live and say that I've stopped being afraid of putting myself out there. Yes, I get nervous still but even if things don't go the way in which I want them to, I can't turn back or take it back. It's like walking up to someone and trying to talk to them. You never know what the reaction might be. I've had my share of rejection, and I'm sure its going to keep coming my way through other avenues that I want to pursue. Why quit being me to be someone else that I'm not. I've been told multiple times that people wish they could be similar to me. You don't because I'm only one person. You have to be yourself.

My mom always says that I walk with this confidence, and that she is so proud of me being confident. Yea, me too! Confidence is key in whatever we plan to do. Even when things don't go our way, they do because we were brave enough to go for it. 


To end is, I say "LIFE IS SO DAMN SHORT. FOR FUCK SAKE, JUST DO WHAT MAKES YOU HAPPY". (found that on Pinterest <3)


May you sleep on marshmallow pillow pets,


Denisha :)

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Progress Report =D

I told myself that this was the year to change lifestyle from this day forward. I'm keeping that agreement with myself. I haven't written a letter or goals like that. I have this vision of how I see myself, and that's how I want to be for the rest of my life. 

It's only been 3 weeks, but my clothes are starting to be bigger on me. I'm noticing the changes in my eating habits, and the way I see my body now. It's a machine that I want to keep running for a while. I don't want to be like a car that constantly needs work. I want to be able to say I got to the top of the museum stairs like Rocky and jump up and down. 

I will forever be a work in progress, but I have to say that I'm soooooo proud of myself for coming this far. I also have a great support system that encourages me to continue to move forward, and don't give up on my dreams. You could call this my journal of encouragement!!! Once you unlock your mind, there's nothing you can't do. 

People ask me how many pounds I lost, but I really don't want to get into weighing myself constantly and become obsessed with my weight. It's not a diet, it's a lifestyle choice. I, like many people have tried the diets, but is it that the word "diet" is what has us discouraged instead of encouraged?

What's your take on this question? I'd love to hear some replies so don't be afraid to share. 

<3,
Nisha

P.S. I should start talking pictures so...

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

LET'S GET PHYSICAL!!! :)

I use to own my "fat", then I moved and now I'm leasing my fat. What I'm saying is that I'm getting on the journey to become healthy. Since birth, I've always been the biggest out of my siblings. Growing up wasn't always easy for me because, well kids can be very CRUEL!!! -_- It wasn't until high school that I started gaining confidence within myself, and didn't care if someone called me fat. Yes, I still go back to those days when the kids would just pick pick PICK at me for no reason. However, that's the world we live in where people always try to knock down someone else.

When I was younger, I always thought that by losing weight, I would lose myself. I saw too many of my so called friends that were a little heavy, lost weight and became this really mean person...sorta like Mean Girls. Let me remind you that I was younger (like 15-18) when I use to think this way. I was of course NAIVE about health, and didn't take it seriously like I do today.

Being 21 yrs old, I'm more mature and I look at life completely different than before. Which I think is suppose to happen anyway. Its not so much as wanting to lose weight as it is to be healthier. I was watching Cassey Ho from http://blogilates.com/ and she mentioned that it doesn't make sense to work out then eat unhealthy in one of her videos. DUH! but like before, I've heard this and was like ok....FOOD!

Though I'm just beginning, I already feel like this is going to work out for me! Its all about self-discipline which I'm working on everyday. No one is perfect, but there's no excuse for not trying to do your best everyday. I don't know about you, but after a good workout, I feel good!


Above: I'm serious about my fitness!!

I'm no expert, but ease your way into the workout and just continue to work at it. If going to the gym isn't for you (sometimes it gets boring), take up a workout class:

Dance Class:
I love getting up and shaking my groove thing. If you are like me, try Zumba! Its so much fun and something that will have your body sweating before you know it. Trust, I'm a believer!


Water Aerobics:
I've done this before and I underestimated this workout...that was until I got out of the pool. The water is like a weight that pushes down on you when you use the weights in the water. Don't be shy if you don't want people to see you in your swim suit because everyone is there to do the same thing!!! :)


Walking:
If you can, try walking with a friend or family member after dinner or your pet (if you have one). They also have walking workouts if the weather is crazy outside. Even if you just go around your block in the beginning, you will motivate yourself to walk around your neighborhood, and pretty soon you're walking around everywhere lol!


Belly Dance:
Now this is one of my favorite types of workouts to do. Though I don't have a flat stomach like the experts, I have hips that don't lie lol! Even if you look silly, it helps your core a lot! Its also a nice way to feel "pretty" or "sexy". I'm pretty sure you'll be able to either find a class you and friends can attend, or in the comfort of your own home!

This is one of my favorite workout shows. I doubt it still comes on but youtube search it!


*NOTE*: These opinions are my own and something that I experienced that I wanted to share with you.

Do you have any other tips or suggestions about working out? What works for you and what doesn't? I'd love to hear your input so comment below :)

Together, we can not only lose weight, but become healthier!!!!

<3,

Nisha

Monday, January 9, 2012

EYE SHADOW LOVE!

Before I got into watching YouTube gurus like QueenofBlending (one of my faves), I was watching my mother in the bathroom mirror getting ready for work everyday. She always wore her signature eye liner that gave her an Egyptian Queen look that I always wished to possess one day. As I got older, I started to experiment with different types of make up, but I stumbled across this thing called eye shadow. I was like "eye shadow? WHAT'S THAT?" Now, being the age where I can buy my own make up, I'm starting a collection on what....EYE SHADOW!!!

One of my favorite companies to shop at is bhcosmetics: http://www.bhcosmetics.com/
I absolutely love their products. I first heard about their products from JuicyStar07 guru from YouTube, and I thought why not try it. So, I bought the 28 neutral palette, and I was ADDICTED!!!! The products aren't expensive which is a great thing because being a college student, I don't want to have to sell a kidney to look good. Ok, maybe that was a little too extreme but you get it, right? The chooses also range from 6 (which you can pick your own colors) to 120 colors. AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!
I just love the color selection that they have! The colors are very pigmented and with the right eye primer, they will make your eyes POP! One of my fave looks is a smokey eye:
I've actually done this look before and it reminds me of my mother in a way. Her eyes are beautiful OMG!!!

EYE PRIMER:
THIS IS A DEFINITE WHEN IT COMES TO EYE SHADOW! Before I got into make up, I'd put some eye shadow on my lids and throughout the day it would crease. Once again, I was a newbie! Now I use eye primer before I put on eye shadow. 

This is an example of what your eyes look like WITH and WITHOUT  PRIMER:
See the difference?

Also, if you use a really good primer like Urban Decay OR Too Faced Eye Shadow Insurance, you will see the difference! You can't have the eye shadow without the primer K! A good primer may cost a little bit, but depending on if its a sale, or if you can get a sample is good. Also a little bit goes a long way with this stuff so you can make it stretch a long time. 

EXPERIMENT!!!!
I use to think that I could only wear one type of color because I'm not fair skin, but the more confidence I had and the more I saw other gurus on the tube, I was like hey I can do it too. If you are BRAND NEW to make up I would recommend E.L.F (eyeslipsface.com). Their products are inexpensive and you can purchase them at Target!!! :)

Eye Shadow is one of my favorite types of make up because it let's me express myself. I love playing up my eyes for a day when I'm either feeling really good or if I'm just having a rough day. I would also recommend starting with a neutral color first and work your way up so you won't feel overwhelmed!

I hope this encourages you to try out eye shadow!

THANKS 4 READING =D,
Nisha

P.S. DON'T FORGET TO BECOME A MEMBER ON MY BLOG!! I HOPE TO POST ONE EVERYDAY!

Sunday, January 8, 2012

Sucker Punch!

I just fell in love with this movie Sucker Punch. It took me to a place where I'd never want to be, but the way in which the story was told had me hooked. Also, there's girls kicking butt which you don't see too much in movies. We're either helpless, or just stupid but not in Sucker Punch. I love the special effects they put on the movie and the action. For those that haven't seen it don't worry, I won't give the movie away.... ;) Each character has a story to tell, and its just great seeing some of my fave actresses do something different.

One of the main things I really loved about the movie were the costumes and the make up!!!
As you can see from the pics, each of them have their own style which I just loved!!!!!!



Baby Doll's make up in this movie is very sweet and innocent. I love the eye make up that she wears in the movie.



Ready to kick some tail!


I love her outfit! I want that hat <3


Rocket has a good heart in the movie!


Blondie kicked butt!


Sweet, sweet doll







Saturday, January 7, 2012

HAPPY NEW YEAR! and the New Year's Resolution thing...

I'm thankful to have another year with my family and the new edition (my niece) to make it even better. 2011 was a good year for me, and this year is going to be even better. 

Just sitting here with a cup of coffee before I head out the door to start the day...(beautiful outside)....I started thinking about the whole New Years Resolution that I always say I'm going to stick to every year and end up not sticking to it. I've read a couple articles on how to stick to it, but its all about self-discipline in the end. Its like with anything you do. If your room is a mess, you have to buckle down and clean your room. (which reminds me, lol) See I'm not perfect, I said I'd do it before New Years...its the 7th now so...

Anyway, this year is definitely the year for me to be healthier!! I'm taking charge of me this year and you should too with whatever you have to do. Whether it be cleaning your room, being more organized, or just taking a painting class you kept saying you'd take. What better time than now to go ahead, because tomorrow isn't promised to anyone!

...There's my sister telling me to come on, so I'm gonna finish this by saying to remember to smile and you will always be happy within.

Hugs,
Nisha