Pretty much sums up how I feel about Arabic
A couple weeks ago, I was having a conversation with my mom about Islam. It turned into a reminiscing conversation, and how much we loved the religion/culture and how beautiful the Arabic language is. When I was younger, I attended an Islamic school, and this is where I was first exposed to Arabic. I was in 2nd/3rd grade when I began learning the language, and it was interesting to say the least. Looking back on my experience, I appreciate it more than I did. I'm even more impressed with myself that I've remembered as much as I have. Usually my memory is terrible, so that's a HUGE plus!
I decided to register for a class in the Spring after the conversation with my mom. I didn't see a 101 course for the Spring and only 102 was available. I was still able to register for the class, so I was like cool! I get an email from the professor who teaches this course. She told me that I had registered for the wrong course, but they don't have a way to test out of it...it's more so at the professor's request. She asked me my exposure with the language, and that would help clarify what class I belong to. I explained to her about my experience at Islamic school, how knowledgeable I am with some phrases, and that I can speak it more than I can understand it.
Long story short..she wants to test me!!??!??!?! I still say a couple phrases, the alphabet, surahs and numbers. It's definitely a difficult language, but I'm excited. Lastly, she mentioned with my experience I should be in 201?! Oh mah gah! That would be incredible, but I think being in 102 would be great for now, until I am really ready.
Have or are you learning a new language? Have you mastered any yet?



No comments:
Post a Comment